血友病基因治疗的进展

关键注意事项:
血友病基因治疗的进展

在第62届ASH年会和博览会之前的星期五卫星专题研讨会上现场录制

每个视频结束后,向下滚动页面以打开下一个视频

介绍

演讲人:Glenn F. Pierce,医学博士

基因治疗 对于患有各种疾病(包括癌症,艾滋病,糖尿病,心脏病和血友病)的个人而言,它具有广阔的前景。 这种创新的治疗方法改变了人体细胞内的基因,从而阻止了这种疾病。 

基因疗法试图替换或修复突变的基因,使患病的细胞对免疫系统更加明显。 血友病A和B是X连锁隐性模式的一部分。 血友病遗传学涉及X染色体中发现的基因,仅需一个错误的基因即可导致这种出血性疾病。

细胞和基因疗法仍在研究中,但结果令人鼓舞。 临床试验已显示出成功,美国食品药物管理局(FDA)批准了一种细胞疗法。 在我们的 关键考虑因素:血友病基因治疗的进展 由Glenn F. Pierce领导,我们讨论了该疾病的概述,基因治疗的当前状态等。

Advances in Gene Therapy for Hemophilia

Key Considerations:
Advances in Gene Therapy for Hemophilia

Recorded Live as a Friday Satellite Symposium preceding the 62nd ASH Annual Meeting and Exposition

After each video ends, scroll down on the page to open the next one

Introductions

Presented by: Glenn F. Pierce, MD, PhD

Gene therapy holds much promise for individuals with a wide variety of conditions, including types of cancers, AIDS, diabetes, heart disease, and hemophilia. This innovative approach to treatment alters genes inside the body’s cells to stop the disease. 

Gene therapy attempts to replace or fix mutated genes and make diseased cells more evident to the immune system. Hemophilia A and B are inherited as part of an X-linked recessive pattern. Hemophilia genetics involve genes found in the X chromosome, and it takes just one faulty gene to lead to this bleeding disorder.

Cell and gene therapies are still under study, but the results are promising. Clinical trials have shown success, and the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has approved one type of cell therapy. In our Key Considerations: Advances in Gene Therapy for Hemophilia led by Glenn F. Pierce, we discuss an overview of the disease, the current state of gene therapy, and more.