基因治療路線圖

血友病的基因治療 涉及使用經過修飾的病毒來傳遞功能失調基因的工作副本。 血友病患者缺乏正常凝血的因素。 他們從基因治療中獲得的拷貝編碼了這些重要的凝血因子,使凝血正常進行。

基因療法如何幫助血友病

基因治療研究為血友病患者提供了一次性治癒的希望。 臨床試驗正在提供有希望的結果,因為許多參與者已經能夠維持高水平的關鍵凝血因子。

基因治療路線圖

患者經常擔心治療的安全性和有效性(有效性)。 然而,研究表明,近 90% 的試驗參與者看到抗凝因子活性正常或接近正常水平。

使用非致病性和復制缺陷型病毒進行基因轉移,因此安全問題很小。 然而,如果需要降低肝酶的升高,實驗性基因治療總是存在輸液反應的風險,以及免疫抑制治療的副作用。

同樣重要的是要知道基因療法僅對治療患者有效。 它不會糾正導致血友病的突變基因或阻止父母將該基因傳給他們的孩子。

國際血栓與止血學會 (ISTH) 由全球血友病界的世界知名專家組成。 此外,ISTHs 發展 教育資源 這為患者和家屬提供了開發這一驚人的新治療方案的前排座位。

ISTH正在幫助患者 了解基因治療 以及它如何有朝一日可以治愈目前需要終生治療的疾病。

圖片
圖片

Please enable the javascript to submit this form

得到拜耳、BioMarin、CSL Behring、Freeline Therapeutics Limited、輝瑞公司、Spark Therapeutics 和 uniQure, Inc. 的教育資助支持。

基本SSL

Gene Therapy Road Map

Gene therapy for hemophilia involves using a modified virus to deliver a working copy of a dysfunctional gene. Sufferers of hemophilia lack factors that allow for normal clotting. The copy they receive from gene therapy encodes these essential clotting factors, allowing clotting to proceed normally.

How Gene Therapy Can Help Hemophilia

Gene therapy research offers the hope of a one-time cure for those with hemophilia. Clinical trials are offering promising results, as many participants have been able to sustain high levels of critical clotting factors.

The Gene Therapy Roadmap

Patients often worry about the safety and efficacy (effectiveness) of the treatment. However, studies show that nearly 90 percent of trial participants see normal or near-normal levels of anticoagulant factor activity.

Gene transfer occurs using a non-pathogenic and replication-deficient virus, so the safety concerns are minimal. However, there is always a risk of infusion reactions from the experimental gene therapy, as well as side effects of immunosuppression therapy, if it is needed to reduce elevations in liver enzymes.

It is important to also know that gene therapy is only effective in treating the patient. It does not correct the mutated gene that causes hemophilia or prevent a parent from passing that gene to their child.

The International Society on Thrombosis and Haemostasis (ISTH) consists of world-renowned experts in the global hemophilia community. In addition, ISTHs develops education resources that provide patients and families with a front-row seat in the development of this amazing new treatment protocol.

ISTH is helping patients understand gene therapy and how it may one day be a cure for a condition that currently requires a lifetime of treatment.

Image
Image

Please enable the javascript to submit this form

Supported by educational grants from Bayer, BioMarin, Freeline Therapeutics Limited, Pfizer Inc., Shire, Spark Therapeutics, and uniQure, Inc.

Essential SSL