新型腺相關病毒(AAV)基因治療(FLT180a)在B型嚴重血友病(HB)患者中達到正常的FIX活動水平(B-AMAZE研究)
ISTH 2020虛擬大會的要點

基因治療 正在迅速成為血友病最有希望的治療方法之一,因為目前的治療方法需要從兒童早期開始終生注射或輸液。 因此,基因治療教育可以在 國際血栓與止血學會 (ISTH)),對於患者了解該治療的過程和益處至關重要。

了解臨床試驗的安全性和有效性

基因治療使用非致病性和復制缺陷病毒來編碼血友病患者缺失的凝血因子。 血友病的基因治療使用 AAV 載體作為傳遞系統。 像這樣的載體具有進入細胞並向細胞核傳遞必要指令的天然能力,對於血友病患者來說,這會導致正常的凝血因子產生。

在 ISTH 2020 會議上發表的 B-AMAZE 研究是三項使用因子 IX 基因的研究之一,該基因經過修飾以提高轉導效率。 目標是確定單劑量 FLT180a 在成年血友病患者中的安全性和有效性。 適應性試驗設計允許臨床試驗團隊確定載體的最佳劑量。 該研究的一個重要排除標準是存在針對載體的中和抗體。

用於兩名初始患者的劑量範圍導致因子 IX 的表達水平略低於正常範圍。 添加預防性免疫抑制治療有助於減少對載體的不良反應。

適應性試驗設計允許研究人員控制研究中後續患者的劑量。 這也讓他們有機會衡量提供的免疫抑製劑的數量。 因此,研究人員得出結論,使用適當劑量的單劑量 FLT180a 進行基因治療可導致因子 IX 表達在正常範圍內。

血友病教育的重要性

血友病教育 教授患者及其家屬基因治療的好處,尤其是病毒載體基因治療。 基因治療病毒載體可能被證明是關鍵 長期治療 對於這種終生且可能致命的疾病。

基因治療研究 從 2020 年開始,這種治療可能會讓血友病患者停止因子替代治療。 此外,它表明出血表型校正是可能的。 對於血友病患者來說,基因治療可能會被證明是一種改變生活的治療方法。

新型腺相關病毒(AAV)基因治療(FLT180a)在B型嚴重血友病(HB)患者中達到正常的FIX活動水平(B-AMAZE研究)

喬丹1,2,S。Shapiro3,M.Makris4,埃文斯(G. Evans)5,博伊斯6,K。會談7,多蘭8,U. Reiss9菲利普斯1,A。Riddell1,MR Peralta1,M。Quaye2,E。Tuddenham1,J。Krop10,G。Short11,S。Kar11,A.Smith11,A.Nathwani1,2

1英國倫敦皇家免費醫院NHS基金會信託人Katharine Dormandy血友病和血栓形成中心

2倫敦大學學院,倫敦,英國

3牛津血友病和血栓形成中心和牛津NIHR BRC,英國牛津

4謝菲爾德大學,英國謝菲爾德

5肯特和坎特伯雷醫院,英國坎特伯雷

6英國南安普敦,南安普敦大學醫院

7英國紐卡斯爾紐卡斯爾血友病綜合護理中心

8蓋伊和聖托馬斯NHS基金會信託基金,英國倫敦

9美國,孟菲斯,聖裘德兒童研究醫院

10Freeline,美國波士頓

11Freeline,斯蒂夫尼奇,英國

關鍵數據點

該圖總結了FLT180a矢量的組成(左圖)和 體外 AAVS3衣殼的轉導效率(右圖)。 該載體由合理設計的人工合成人類肝衣殼蛋白(AAVS3),具有優化內含子的強效肝特異性啟動子和FIX基因的密碼子優化帕多瓦變體組成。 在原代肝細胞培養中,AAVS3衣殼的轉導效率比下一個最有效的衣殼AAV4高3倍。

FLT180a 1/2期研究的主要目標是評估該載體在中度至重度B型血友病且無肝病或抗AAVS3衣殼抗體的患者中的安全性和有效性。 為了使FIX的目標表達水平達到70-150%,採用了適應性給藥方案(右圖),從2名患者開始,劑量最低為4.5 x 1011 vg / kg並調整後續劑量以優化FIX表達,同時將血栓形成的風險降至最低。 3名患者已註入試驗的最終劑量,即9.75 x 1011 vg / kg,已達到正常範圍內的FIX水平。

相關內容

互動網絡研討會

互動網絡研討會

圖片

Please enable the javascript to submit this form

由拜耳、BioMarin、Freeline Therapeutics Limited、Pfizer Inc.、Shire、Spark Therapeutics 和 uniQure, Inc. 提供的教育資助支持。

基本SSL

A Novel Adeno Associated Virus (AAV) Gene Therapy (FLT180a) Achieves Normal FIX Activity Levels in Severe Hemophilia B (HB) Patients (B-AMAZE Study)
Highlights From the ISTH 2020 Virtual Congress

Gene therapy is quickly becoming one of the most promising treatments for hemophilia, as the current treatment requires a lifetime of injections or infusions beginning in early childhood. Therefore, education on gene therapy, which can be found within the International Society on Thrombosis and Haemostasis (ISTH), is critical for patients to understand the process and the benefits of this treatment.

Understanding the Safety and Efficacy of Clinical Trials

Gene therapy uses a non-pathogenic and replication-deficient virus to encode missing clotting factors in patients with hemophilia. Gene therapy for hemophilia uses an AAV vector as a delivery system. Vectors such as this have a natural ability to enter cells and deliver necessary instructions to the nucleus, which, for patients with hemophilia, results in normal clotting factor production.

The B-AMAZE study presented at the ISTH 2020 Conference is one of the three that uses a Factor IX gene that has been modified to increase efficiency in transduction. The goal was to determine the safety and efficacy of a single dose of FLT180a in adult patients with hemophilia. The adaptive trial design allowed the clinical trial team to determine the optimal dose of the vector. An important exclusionary criteria for the study was the presence of neutralizing antibodies to the vector.

The dose range used for the two initial patients led to expression of Factor IX at levels just below the normal range. The addition of prophylactic immunosuppression treatments helped to reduce adverse reaction to the vector.

The adaptive trial design permitted researchers to control doses for subsequent patients in the study. It also gave them a chance to gauge the amount of immunosuppressant to provide. As a result, reachers concluded that the gene therapy treatment using a single dose of FLT180a at the proper dose can result in Factor IX expression within normal ranges.

The Importance of Hemophilia Education

Hemophilia education teaches patients and their families about the benefits of gene therapy, especially viral vector gene therapy. Gene therapy viral vectors may prove to be the key to long-lasting treatment for this life-long and potentially deadly condition.

Gene therapy research from 2020 shows that this treatment may allow patients with hemophilia to discontinue factor replacement therapy. In addition, it indicates that a bleeding phenotype correction is possible. For people living with hemophilia, gene therapy could prove to be a life-changing treatment.

A Novel Adeno Associated Virus (AAV) Gene Therapy (FLT180a) Achieves Normal FIX Activity Levels in Severe Hemophilia B (HB) Patients (B-AMAZE Study)

P. Chowdary1,2, S. Shapiro3, M. Makris4, G. Evans5, S. Boyce6, K. Talks7, G. Dolan8, U. Reiss9, M. Phillips1, A. Riddell1, M.R. Peralta1, M. Quaye2, E. Tuddenham1, J. Krop10, G. Short11, S. Kar11, A. Smith11, A. Nathwani1,2

1Katharine Dormandy Haemophilia and Thrombosis Centre, Royal Free Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, London, United Kingdom

2University College London, London, United Kingdom

3Oxford Haemophilia & Thrombosis Centre and Oxford NIHR BRC, Oxford, United Kingdom

4University of Sheffield, Sheffield, United Kingdom

5Kent & Canterbury Hospital, Canterbury, United Kingdom

6University Hospital Southampton, Southampton, United Kingdom

7Newcastle Haemophilia Comprehensive Care Centre, Newcastle, United Kingdom

8Guy’s & St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust, London, United Kingdom

9St Jude Children's Research Hospital, Memphis, United States

10Freeline, Boston, United States

11Freeline, Stevenage, United Kingdom

Key Data Points

This figure summarizes the composition of the FLT180a vector (left panel) and the in vitro transduction efficiency of the AAVS3 capsid (right panel). The vector is composed of a rationally designed, synthetic human liver tropic capsid (AAVS3), a potent liver specific promotor with optimized introns, and a codon-optimized Padua variant of the FIX gene. In primary hepatocyte cell culture, the AAVS3 capsid demonstrates an efficiency of transduction that is 4 times greater than the next most efficient capsid, AAV3.

The main objective of the FLT180a phase 1/2 study was to assess the safety and efficacy of the vector in patients with moderate to severe hemophilia B and no liver disease or neutralizing antibodies to the AAVS3 capsid. In order to achieve the target FIX expression levels of 70-150%, an adaptive dosing regimen was utilized (right panel), starting with 2 patients at the lowest dose of 4.5 x 1011 vg/kg and adjusting subsequent doses to optimize FIX expression while minimizing risk of thrombosis. The 3 patients who have been infused with the final dose of the trial, 9.75 x 1011 vg/kg, have achieved FIX levels within the normal range.

RELATED CONTENT

Image

Please enable the javascript to submit this form

Supported by educational grants from Bayer, BioMarin, Freeline Therapeutics Limited, Pfizer Inc., Shire, Spark Therapeutics, and uniQure, Inc.

Essential SSL